The National Art Library Illustration Awards, sponsored by the Enid Linder Foundation, is a series of prizes to encourage the art of contemporary illustration in books and magazines. The judging panel of professional artists makes its choice from hundreds of entries submitted by publishers on behalf of the illustrators and looks for innovation and mastery in the printed and published work. Visit the 'What's New' part of their website for more details The National Art Library is a department of the Victoria and Albert Museum.

Overall Winner:

Wayne Anderson
Gnomes and Gardens, by Nigel Suckling
London: Pavilion, 2000

Second Prize:

Helen Ward
The Wind in the Willows, by Kenneth Grahame
Dorking, Surrey: Templar Publishing, 2000

Second Prize:

Daniel Pudles
These are the Children we Crush
The Guardian, Tuesday Feb 15, 2000


Izhar Cohen
The Flood Tales, by Richard Monte
London, Pavilion, 2000

Geoff Grandfield
Raymond Chandler: the complete novels
London, The Folio Society, 2000

Paul Slater
Jonathan Meades at the Millennium Dome
The Times Magazine, Sat May 6, 2000

Ralph Steadman
London, Andersen Press, 2000